505-633-0750 Hablamos Espanol
Nice People, Tough Lawyers

SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION

    • $18 MILLION

      WRONGFUL DEATH SETTLEMENT

    • $7.5 MILLION

      MEDICAL MALPRACTICE SETTLEMENT

    • $4 Million

      TRUCK ACCIDENT SETTLEMENT

    • $1 Million

      TRUCK ACCIDENT SETTLEMENT

    • $4 Million

      PRODUCT LIABILITY SETTLEMENT

    • $1 Million

      CONSTRUCTION ACCIDENT SETTLEMENT

    • $2.5 Million

      TRUCK ACCIDENT SETTLEMENT

    • $1 Million

      MEDICAL MALPRACTICE SETTLEMENT

    • $1.5 Million

      WRONGFUL DEATH SETTLEMENT

New Mexico Negligence Laws

When someone has caused you injury, whether intentionally or by accident, they can be made to pay for your losses if negligence was involved. What is negligence, and how do you prove that the other party was negligent and at fault? That’s what we will be discussing here. Read on to learn more about New Mexico negligence laws.

Negligence Laws and Personal Injury Claims

Filing a personal injury claim is your right, but only if you can prove that the party that caused your injury was being negligent.

Negligence Defined

Negligence is a legal term that means careless or reckless. To prove negligence, you must show that another person’s actions caused you to be hurt.

The law in New Mexico states that all those who cause another injury are responsible for the subsequent harm. This includes the injuries themselves but also the damages the injury brought about in the person’s life.

Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations is the legal time frame that all those injured in New Mexico have in which to submit their injury claims. You have three years from the date of your injury to submit your claim or you will be barred from filing a claim.

Other considerations: Submitting a claim as quickly as possible is in your best interest. Witnesses could lose their recollection of events, evidence can be lost, and the at-fault party could disappear, leaving you footing the bill for an injury accident you didn’t cause.

Types of Personal Injury Claims

There are different types of personal injury claims in New Mexico, and the laws are a little different for each type. Here are some of the different types of claims: product liability, premises liability, auto wrecks, truck accidents, motorcycle collisions, dog bites, nursing home abuse, and wrongful death.

A lawyer can help you learn the NM laws that apply to each personal injury type.

Get in Touch with a New Mexico Attorney

New Mexico negligence laws can be complex, so it’s usually smart to have a lawyer’s assistance with your claim. To reach an attorney and obtain a free case evaluation, call Will Ferguson & Associates directly at 505-633-0750. You can also complete the web submission form down below.

Contact WILL FERGUSON & ASSOCIATES

Request a FREE Case Review

NO PRESSURE. SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY. NO HIDDEN FEES.

[]
1 Step 1
Contact
Will Ferguson & Associates
Name
Phone Number
Tell us about your case
0 /
* All Fields Required

Or Call 505-633-0750

Previous
Next
powered by FormCraft

Our LOCATIONS WE CAN’T WAIT TO MEET YOU..

Albuquerque

1720 Louisiana Blvd NE #100
Albuquerque, NM 87110

505-633-0750
Mon - Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Or by appointment after 5:00PM

Rio rancho

333 Rio Rancho Boulevard Northeast
Rio Rancho, NM

505-633-0750
Mon - Fri 8:30AM - 5:00PM
Or by appointment after 5:00PM

Schedule a Free Consultation

Request a free Consultation