According to New Mexico authorities, a car accident last Friday left three people injured and two dead. Police say that the crashed vehicle was stolen. According to the Bernalillo County Sheriff, officers suspected that the driver was intoxicated and attempted to stop them from driving recklessly.
The police say that they attempted to spike the vehicle’s tires before it crashed into a tow truck. The tow truck driver was rushed to the hospital.
The stolen vehicle caught on fire after impact with four people inside.
New Mexico’s Bad Drivers
New Mexico is number six on the list of worst drivers in the country, according to the Federal Traffic Data. Reports suggest that the main causes that contribute to the majority of fatal car accidents are careless driving.
New Mexico has one of the highest percentages of drunk driving fatalities in the United States. A 2015 report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Data ranked New Mexico as the 11th-worst in the United States for drunk driving fatalities. The report discovered that 38 percent of New Mexico’s fatal crashes involved alcohol. Drivers involved in 144 out of New Mexico’s 383 fatal accidents in 2015, had blood-alcohol concentrations of 0.01 and higher. Drivers with blood alcohol content levels of 0.08 or higher were involved in 116 of those fatal accidents in 2015.
New Mexico Drunk Driving Laws
Nationwide it’s illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content levels at or above 0.08 percent. Therefore, the New Mexico law mandates that drivers over 21 years old cannot drive with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. Drivers under 21 years old cannot drive with a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher. Violations of this law will result in a driving while intoxicated conviction.
Driving while intoxicated will result in license suspension by the Motor Vehicle Division. On the first DWI offense, licenses can be suspended for 6 months if the driver is 21 years old or older. If the driver is under 21, their license can be suspended for up to a year. The first offense also includes a fine of $500, community service, a BAC test free of $50, and court fees. The second offense will result in license suspension for all ages. Refusing to take a chemical test in New Mexico can result in a mandatory license suspension for one year. If the courts decide to suspend your license it’s possible that they require you install an Ignition Interlock Device. The device requires the driver to use a breathalyzer in order to start the vehicle. If the driver’s blood alcohol concentration levels exceeded the legal amount, the vehicle will not start and the vehicle will temporarily lock.
Along with license suspensions and hefty fees, New Mexico has expansion initiatives in place to further discourage drunk driving. Sobriety checkpoints are currently in place to stop drunk drivers in their tracks. Police will stop some or all drivers at specific checkpoints throughout the city.
If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident in the result of a DUI/DWI then contact Ferguson Law for the help that you deserve and need for this trying situation.